Home Renovations

How to Paint Furniture Without Sanding

I have a corner bench table that I have been dying to spruce up. It was originally a medium wood-grain color and I was not digging it. Instead of tossing it out, as these things can be expensive (anywhere from $200+) and it had a great storage, I decided to paint it and bring it back to life.

One thing that kept me from painting it right away was the idea of sanding it. Not only was it huge, but it had a million ridges and I was not about to put my poor fingers through that kind of harsh labor, no way. Instead, I began my hunt to see what I could do in order to paint it without the use of any sand paper (I promise my fingers were thanking me). After doing some research, I found the perfect solution.

Below are some tips and tricks on how to paint wood furniture without sanding.

1. Clean Your Furniture

You will need to get rid of any dirt and oil residue in order for your primer and paint to really adhere. This step is really important in order to prevent the paint from chipping. I used a damp rag and did a light cleaning.

2. Use a Primer

I looked up various primers and the one that caught my eye was Zinsser’s Primer and Ultimate Stain Blocker from Home Depot. It is described as a primer and sealer that sticks to all surfaces without sanding – solddddd! It comes in white and the one I purchased was 1 quart for $13.48. Because I had so much surface area to cover, I was a little hesitant on choosing the smaller size (and maybe I was being a tad cheap I must admit) ; however, I did not even make a dent on this thing! A little really does go a long way.

3. Use Proper Tools

You don’t need to spend a fortune on brushes, but definitely don’t pick one just because it is the cheapest – learn from my mistake. With another project, I bought the cheapest brush from Home Depot and it shed everywhere. Not only did it make a mess of the project, but I ended up being forced to fork out more money on a decent brush (the cheapo one broke) in order to complete the project. I ended up purchasing the Purdy brand from Home Depot which are around $15. I used foam sponges for the primer and a brush for the paint. I wouldn’t recommend using the brush with the primer because it is really goopey and may damage them.

4. Paint Thin Coats

It is better to go in multiple times than to do a really thick coat. Using thin coats of paint prevents the paint from getting clumpy or getting any of those annoying drip marks. I used two coats and let each one dry over night.

Now for the fun part – Pictures!

thumb_DSCN0317_1024

Before – My plain and boring little table! 😦

thumb_DSCN9876_1024thumb_DSCN9878_1024

After – My beautiful, full of life table! 😀

I hope these tips helped! Feel free to share any tips or tricks that you have of your own!

xo J/Kay

 

 

Leave a Reply

